A light in the darkness.

The Torch Light Brigade is the newest release for Infinity and it is all over maya net.  It is what everyone is talking about, but I  know that my readers aren’t here for another review of the torchlight units, so instead I am going to write about how O-12 Prime lists have changed with the new units and profiles.  As a side note, don’t get O12 Prime confused with silver star prime, O12 Prime is another name for vanilla O12.

Before we get started: I love Shotguns and Salmon. You can find me in Ariadna. Who am I? 

Ok here we go!  The first change that I noticed for O12 Prime is the new mimitisim -3 camouflage units.  They are everywhere.  There are now more camouflage markers in O12 than there are Torchlight Brigade Videos on Youtube. This sectorial has gone from having almost no unknown markers to absolutely Submerging the table in the power of their new shell game and I think it is great!   The ‘shell game’ is jargon for the unknown elements of the game table, for example under that enemy camouflage marker there could be a mine or a hacker or a sniper or nothing at all.  In the past all of the O12 “shell game” was done with units that did not start on the table such as Deltas and the Lynx, but now we have some amazing bait and bluff options in our roster.  

I want to specifically mention the Jackboots, because they are the new duo option.  These guys are my favourite of all the new additions.  When I look at the models, I see a good space cop with a bad attitude.  The Jackboots get the worst jobs that O12 can hand out and they keep coming back.  There is so much to say about these guys but I’m going to keep it succinct. Jackboots have the armour of a heavy infantry unit with Total Immunity to ammo types, they are tough as nails and with the new Doctors in O12 they are very difficult to remove from the table.  I know that I will be running these guys in a duo with the spitfire and the engineer.  They can be an amazing O12 Prime first or second wave attack, bringing tough active turn firepower and a mobile, combat ready engineer.  O12 REMs are rejoicing. 

I have talked before about the lack of armour cracking in O12, but that has all changed.  The Wrecker is here to wreck stuff.  This new TAG is now the best armour cracking unit in the game (sit down Azaril).  For those of us who have played GranBlue Relink, the Wrecker literally has an infinitely high damage cap. The Wrecker is also one of new Remote Presence units that O12 Prime will be including. The big increase in Remote Presence and the new two wound cubers has put high value on Pravati in O12 lists and I expect to see her more often, she is definitely on my painting table.  The cheap new chain of command unit is going to throw some other old favourites back in the spotlight too. Hector and other aggressive Lieutenant’s like the Gamma will finally get some table time and fragile Lieutenant’s like the Alpha will be more reliable.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started