Cryogenics Strategies and Strengths

Cryogenic is a Mission that I have enjoyed playing against my mates this season.  ITS 14 is past the halfway point, and I thought it would be good to have a chat about the latest Mission from Corvus Belli.

Ill just take a moment to say, welcome to the Blog. I have had a few adventures in Melbourne recently, but now I’m settled back in Darwin. Hi to the friends that I made while I was there, “thanks for all the games”.  There are many high caliber players in Melbourne, and I learnt a lot from playing against them.  

The first thing I want to say about Cryogenic is that no one gets the scoring correct at first, but stick with it!  The basic breakdown of a perfect score is 2 points for pressing 2 buttons, 3 points for having a dominant Master Breacher each turn, 1 point for your classified card and 4 points for dominating both zones with HVTs at the end of the game.  There are other ways to score, but if you want the full 10 points that’s how you get it.  

Strategies: Lockout
There are a couple of ways to lock your opponent out of points.  The most common one is to grab 3 tech coffins before your opponent, locking them out of 2 points.  Another lockout comes from killing the enemy Master Breacher.  This is big.  This lockout is for 3 points if you get it in turn one and it stops your opponent threatening HVTs at the end of the game, that’s another 2 points.  Montessa paramedic is a great unit for this.

Strategies: Civilian Evacuation
This can really mess up your opponents game plan.  You can move the HVTs with Civevac.  It is a +3 wip roll that can’t be done by REMs or Impetuous units.  This can also be considered a Lockout because if you can get both the HVTs into a deployment zone it is 4 unavailable points.  However you can still threaten the HVTs with your Master Breacher. Infiltrators such as Moran’s are already close, so they are a good choice for civevac. 

Strategies: Defence
The best way to stop the enemy from walking into your half of the table is deployables.  A Beast hunter with ap mines is great in this mission.  Units with mimitisim can go into suppressive fire, and hidden deployment will also stop your opponent from locking you out.  A special mention goes to the Lynx with plasma carbine.

Strategies: Bait
Using your Master Breacher as bait to trick your opponent into moving forward is a risky play but it can have a big pay off if you’re smart.  My favourite bait is a turn 1 play: I activate one tech coffin on my opponent’s half of the table and one on my half. Then I heavily defend my remaining tech coffin which is now the bait for my opponent.  This can force your opponent to assault your strongest position, and if they don’t then you can casually press the third tech coffin in your second turn.  The Dakini Paramedic is fast and cheap, it’s great for opening tech coffins.  

Strategies: Reach
Often both sides have their HVT surrounded by mines and suppressive fire. A frontal attack is not a good idea so we should use units that have “reach”. For example Airborne Deployment with combi rife (to help avoid mines), guided and speculative fire.  

Strategies: Alpha-Strike!
Hit first and hit hard.  This is a risky play, as there are so many ways to get locked out of points.  The aim here is to get to the opponent before they can set up their defenses.  I am not experienced in this kind of play, so I won’t suggest any units. 

Strategies: Second Turn
Zone Control gives four points in this mission and we all know how much easier to control zones when your going second, and that’s that.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my thoughts on Cryogenic and I hope these tips can help you in your games.  

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started