CRYOGENIC, DRUZE Vs O12

This is not your average battle report.  It is one clash in a continuing war between the most dangerous criminals in the human sphere and their bitter enemies the space police.  Last year my O12 were unable to get even a single victory against the Druze, but this year I knew it was my time.  Cryogenic is one of my favorite missions and I realized that I had more experience then than I did before!  I had a strong list that has served me well in the past, but I added some Roadbots.  My Master Breacher was the Betatrooper thanks to a suggestion from someone on discord, but unfortunately I forgot their name.  This lineup gave me 3 good remote presence attack pieces so of course I took a Monstrucker with the very useful Drop Bears.  The rest of my army was standard stuff for O12, check it out below.  

I don’t have a list of the Druze army, but the notable elements were a Pure Core Fireteam with an E/M Grenade Launcher and Arslan, Fiddler as the Master Breacher, the newly nerfed Bulleteer with Monstrucker Support, a couple of Yuan Yuan’s and the laughable Kameel total reaction baggage REM.  

I got first turn and I chose to go for a Tech Coffin lockout.  I spent two command tokens to switch the Dakini and the Flash-pulse bot, then I sent the Dakini up the left side pressing both Tech Coffins as he went.  Unfortunately this revealed my HVT on his half of the table.  I pressed the other Tech Coffin on my half and then deployed some mad traps and set up some suppressive fire.  My Beast Hunter put himself in harm’s way to put a flame template onto the TR Kameel but he died for his troubles and the Kameel survived.  A stray ARO the Bulleteer triggered a Madtrap and it got glued.  Druze replied with EM spec fire onto the paramedic roadbot which he dodged but was forced to drop suppression.  That Roadbot then got blasted by the Buleteer (he got repaired) and lost a wound and his firing position.  Druze revealed the second HVT on their half of the table.  The Fireteam moved up to help fiddler dominate a zone.  The last few orders went on Spec. Firing EM Grenades against my obvious Lt, but he missed and I was able to un-clench.  I had set the Tempo by locking out two points, but both of the HVTs were on my opponent’s side of the table.  I really needed to civevac to stay in the game.  

The Lynx went to work at the start of turn 2.  I rolled a crit and a hit with plasma against the Druze fireteam.  I believe it was almost 10 unsaved wounds on three guys, before the Monstruckers Dropbear went off.  Unfortunately the Lynx was within 10 inches of the digger and this worked out as a ‘trade’.  I wanted to grab the HVT but the Kameel TR bot was making its saves with five armour in cover and I was held back.  Druze opened with a Yuan Yuan Dropping in behind my Omega causing lots of dodges including my Master Breacher who dropped suppressive.  The Yuan Yuan made the mistake of activating again to CC the Omega, but O12 crit and the Yuan was destroyed by cross-fire.  Arslan had survived the Lynx and he made use of his MSV to put down the Omega and the Monstrucker while surviving in No Wound Incapacitation, annoyingly he then went into Suppressive Fire.  Fiddler moved up to support Arslan, she spread her bots out to slow down and counter attack.  I wasn’t feeling great at the end of turn 2.  Not getting a HVT to my ‘castle’ had really hurt me, but if I could remove Fiddler I thought I would be able to secure the HVT even though it wasn’t in my half, that would give me victory 7-4.  

I had 6 orders and a very fast Roadbot with a B3 Shotgun.  I split burst against the Jackbots as I zoomed towards Fiddler clearing my own path.  Three templates put Arslan in the dirt but Fiddler dodged easily.  The Roadbot was now wounded, but he activated again to fire hit mode against Fiddler, doing one wound to her, but the Roadbot was put down by that Darn Kameel TR REM.  I was very low on orders but my Master Breacher moved to threaten the HVT and fire on Fiddler who Crit Dodged.  Druze only spent enough orders to complete his classified card and then take a surprisingly effective salvo against my Master Breacher, which did two wounds to the Beta-Trooper.  

The final score was 8-4, Druze victory.  

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started