Running a Demo Game

My Housemate has been asking me about the miniatures that I’m always carrying around with me and when I explained ‘infinity’ to him, he was keen to try it.  His experience was limited to xcom, which he later said had a lot of similarities. 

The first introduction was, 3 linemen vs 3 linemen with code1 rules.  That was easy enough, then we introduced a Hi each with Multi-Rifle, the Beta-Trooper and the Mobile Brigada.    Of Course the first and most important rule is to choose an army based on what you think looks good.  The rule of cool. Everyone agreed that this is very important as it will keep you coming back to the game, and it gives you a certain difficult to describe feeling when you play.  

The basic topics that we covered for the first game were:

  1. 2 actions per green order. Results are determined by 20 sided dice. 
  2. Blackjack rules on the dice, trying to beat your opponent without going bust.  
  3. You only get one dice when it’s not your turn. 
  4. You may spend as many orders as you are able on a single model or combination of models during your turn. This is when you should take your fights. This is where you have the advantage.
  5. If you are taking a gun fight, get cover!
  6. The Lt generates a blue order in addition to a green order.

After the first game my housemate was still interested so we added a few more rules, like hacking and guts, and we added a few more units, including a Wildcat, a Gangbuster and some drop troops.  The mission that we played next was an abridged version of Acquisition, and the result was a draw.  

Fast forward to the end of March and a few more games have been played.  My housemates favourite lists’ are built around Mimitisim -6 and cheap O12 hacking.  As a guy who started in N3, I was expecting hacking to be confusing, but he picked it up immediately.  We found camouflage to be more confusing, I’m still not sure why.  For our more recent games we added the rules for suppressive fire and Loss of Lieutenant. 

One of the more exciting games that we played was an abridged version of the Armoury that we called King of the Hill.  Basically control the room each turn.  We lacked the space for a good sized play area so a Multi-Rifle was the weapon of choice. O12 made a strong grab for the room with Hippolyta and Casanova. Casanova got taken out by the Hellcat boarding shotgun, but I couldn’t control the room. Turn 2 was mostly defensive for O12, he moved up the hackers and put his Omega Lt into Suppressive fire.  I went after the Omega with my Wildcat hacker, but I misplaced badly and lost my piece.  Then my Sombra used Camouflage to get behind Hippolyta and rolled well to take her out with the light shotty.  This gave me the room and tied the score.  Turn 3 the Omega took care of business by killing the Sombra and was dominating the room, a Kappa Hacker also moved into the ZO.  I was low on resources, but I still had Jazz. She attempted to Carbonite the Omega and take him out with anti-personel mines, but I was unsuccessful.  Victory to My Housemate and O12, 4-2. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started